Picture Permanent Exhibition

SWISS CUSTOMS BACK THEN

THE BEGINNING OF THE SWISS BORDER

Illegal trade flourished along the unmanned "green" border with Italy up until the middle of the twentieth century. The lives of the border guards and their families in Cantine de Gandria were characterised by the cold, solitude and occupational risks. The current Customs Museum building served as a border guard post up until 1921.

The historic section of the exhibition shows how the border guards in Cantine di Gandria used to live and what instruments they used to crack down on smugglers. A collection of border stones in the gardens of the museum, and information about the creation of the Swiss border since the founding of the Confederation in 1848, provide the finishing touches to the historical portrait of Swiss Customs.

Picture Permanent Exhibition 2

SWISS CUSTOMS TODAY

FOR THE ECONOMY, SECURITY AND HEALTH OF THE NATION

Through their goods and people checks, Customs and the Border Guard help to protect the health and safety of the public. They also help to ensure the ongoing appeal of Switzerland as a business location.

How does the Border Guard go about a cross-border drug search? What effects does organised commercial smuggling have on the economy? Why does Customs control precious metals? Amazing installations and exciting short films explain the tasks of Customs and the job of the Border Guard in today's world.

Picture Permanent Exhibition 3

SMUGGLED GOODS

EXPENSIVE, SOUGHT-AFTER PROHIBITED

Fake brand-name watches, medicines and textiles brought illegally into Switzerland cost the country billions in damage to its economy every year. The permanent exhibition shows how Swiss Customs uncovers white- collar crime.

NO TO THE SELLING-OFF OF CULTURAL PROPERTY

Cultural property is the source of our identity. Torn out of its natural context by unscrupulous dealers and unsuspecting collectors, it is robbed of the cultural and academic value it once had. Since 2005, through the implementation of the Federal Act on the International Transfer of Cultural Property, Switzerland has been making an important contribution to the preservation of the world's cultural heritage, and Customs and the Border Guard play an important role in that.

YES TO SPECIES PROTECTION

More than 30,000 animal and plant species are considered endangered, and many are threatened with extinction. Through its controls and its dissemination of information, Customs helps to uncover illegal trade, and in so doing protects endangered species of animals and plants worldwide from extinction.

Image Exhibiton permanente

LA DOUANE HISTORIQUE

LE DÉBUT DE LA FRONTIÈRRE SUISSSE

Jusqu'au milieu du 20e siècle, le commerce illégal était florissant le long de la frontière verte avec l'Italie. A Cantine di Gandria, la vie des gardes-frontière et de leurs familles était marquée par le froid, l'isolement et les dangers du métier. Le bâtiment qui abrite aujourd'hui le Musée des douanes a servi de poste de gardes-frontière jusqu'en 1921.

La partie historique de l'exposition montre comment les gardes-frontière vivaient autrefois à Cantine di Gandria et avec quels instruments ils mettaient fin aux agissements des contrebandiers. Une collection de bornes frontières placée dans le jardin du musée ainsi que des explications concernant la mise en place de la frontière suisse depuis la création de l'Etat fédéral en 1848 concluent la présentation de la douane historique.

Image Exhibition permanente 2

LA DOUANE MODERNE

AU SERVICE DE L'ECONOMIE, DE LA SÉCURITÉ ET DE LA SANTE

En contrôlant les marchandises et les personnes, la douane civile et le Corps des gardes-frontière contribuent à protéger la sécurité et la santé des citoyennes et des citoyens, tout en préservant l'attrait de la place économique suisse.

Comment le Corps des gardes-frontière procède-t-il par rapport au trafic de drogue international? Quelles conséquences la contrebande organisée professionnellement a-t-elle sur l'économie? Pourquoi la douane contrôle-t-elle les métaux précieux? Des installations étonnantes et de petits films passionnants mettent en lumière les tâches de la douane civile ainsi que le mandat de travail du Corps des gardes-frontière aujourd'hui.

Image Exhibition permanente 3

MARCHANDISE DE CONTREBANDE

DES MARCHANDISES CHERES, RECHERCHEES ET INTERDITES

Les contrefaçons de montres de marque, de médicaments et de textiles importées illégalement en Suisse causent chaque année des pertes économiques qui se chiffrent en milliards de francs. L'exposition permanente montre comment la douane suisse met au jour la criminalité économique.

CONTRE LE BRADAGE DES BIENS CULTURELS

Les biens culturels sont le fondement de l'identité. Arrachés à leur environnement par des commerçants sans scrupules et des collectionneurs candides, ils perdent leur valeur pour la culture qui en a été dépouillée et pour la science. Depuis 2005 et la mise en œuvre de la loi sur le transfert des biens culturels, la Suisse contribue de manière importante à la préservation de l'héritage culturel de l'humanité. Dans ce contexte, la douane civile et le Corps des gardes-frontière jouent un rôle crucial.

EN FAVEUR DE LA PROTECTION DES ESPECES

lus de 30 000 espèces animales et végétales sont protégées; nombre d'entre elles sont même menacées d'extinction. A l'aide de contrôles et d'informations, la douane contribue à mettre au jour le commerce illégal et à protéger ainsi les animaux et les plantes du monde entier qui sont menacés d'extinction.